insurance companies registered with the Department; British and foreign insurance companies operating in Canada; small loans companies and money-lenders; and Civil Service insurance.

Under the relevant provincial statutes the Department examines provincial trust companies in the Provinces of Manitoba and New Brunswick and loan and trust companies in the Province of Nova Scotia.

A Fire Prevention Branch was organized in 1919 with responsibility for the administration of Sect. 515 of the Criminal Code. It maintains fire-loss records, makes inspections, reports on fire-prevention legislation and protection methods and endeavours to extend and co-ordinate fire-prevention work in Canada.

The Department of Justice.—This Department provides legal services to the Government and the various government departments, including preparing and settling government legislation, settling instruments issued under the Great Seal, regulating and conducting litigation for or against the Crown, superintending the acquisition of property and prosecutions under federal legislation other than the Criminal Code, administers federal statutes dealing with legal matters and provides administration services for the Supreme Court of Canada and the Exchequer Court.

The Department also superintends the penitentiaries and administers the prison system of Canada.

The Department of Labour.—The Department of Labour was established in 1900 by Act of Parliament (63-64 Vict., c. 24). The Department administers, under the Minister of Labour, legislation dealing with: industrial relations, investigation of disputes, etc.; fair employment practices; the regulation of fair wages and hours of labour; government annuities; government employee compensation; merchant seamen compensation; vocational training; publication of the Labour Gazette, as well as bulletins giving information on industrial and related subjects.

The Unemployment Insurance Commission and National Employment Service is also under the direction of the Minister of Labour. The Canada Labour Relations Board and the National Advisory Council on Manpower also act on behalf of the Minister of Labour. The Department is also the official liaison agency between the Canadian Government and the International Labour Organization.

The Department of Mines and Technical Surveys.—This Department was created by an Act of Parliament (13 Geo. VI, c. 17) which received Royal Assent on Dec. 10, 1949. Its establishment resulted from the reorganization of certain former departments into an integrated organization whose primary function is to provide technological assistance in the development of Canada's mineral resources through investigations, studies and research in the fields of geology, mineral dressing and metallurgy, and topographic, geodetic and other surveys. The Department is under the Minister of Mines and Technical Surveys and is divided into five branches, namely: the Surveys and Mapping Branch, the Geological Survey of Canada, the Mines Branch, the Dominion Observatories and the Geographical Branch.

The Department also administers the Explosives Act which regulates manufacture, testing, sale, storage and importation of explosives, and the Emergency Gold Mining Assistance Act which provides cost-aid to the gold industry.

Boards and Commissions are: Canadian Board on Geographical Names; Dominion Coal Board; Board of Examiners for Dominion Land Surveyors; International Boundary Commission and Interprovincial Boundary Commissions.

The Department of National Defence.—Created on Jan. 1, 1923, by the National Defence Act, 1922, the Department of National Defence was originally an amalgamation of the Department of Militia and Defence, the Naval Service and the Air Board.

In 1940, the Department of National Defence was separated into three departments, one for each of the Armed Services, and continued under this organization until the cessation of hostilities. In order to afford the maximum possible degree of co-ordination, the three Services were again brought into one departmental organization in 1946.

In 1947, the Defence Research Board was formed to carry out research projects for defence. It is responsible to the Minister of National Defence for this function and for advising him on the effect of scientific, technical and other research on national defence.

Department of National Health and Welfare.—The Department of National Health and Welfare was established in October 1944. Under the Minister of National Health and Welfare, the Department, which is composed of three branches (Health, Welfare and Administration), is administered through the Deputy Ministers of National Health and National Welfare.